Terry Jackson’s widow Marjie Lambert and SAMA founding member/former president Paul Borden present the annual Terry Jackson Award to automotive journalist Ron Beasley at 2013 Miami International Auto Show luncheon.

Community Newspapers’ Ron Beasley receives coveted Terry Jackson Award
By Lee Stephens

Veteran journalist Ron Beasley is the 2013 recipient of the Terry Jackson Memorial Award for his continuing contributions and work on behalf of the Southern Automotive Media Association.

Beasley, the founder of the organization, was presented the award on Friday (Nov. 8) at the annual SAMA luncheon sponsored by Chevrolet at the Miami International Auto Show in Miami Beach.

The award is named for the late automotive journalist Terry Jackson and recognizes a member for outstanding service to SAMA and for contributions to the auto industry in South Florida. Jackson’s wife, Marjie Lambert, and last year’s recipient, Paul Borden, made the presentation.

Beasley is the automotive editor for Miami’s Community Newspapers and served as SAMA president for the first three years after the organization’s founding in 2007. He has continued to be active in the organization since then. He is an ex officio member of the association’s board and also chairs the judging competitions for SAMA’s auto show as well as the annual Topless in Miami convertible competition in June.

“Ron has set an example for us in the way he has continued to devote his time and energy to SAMA,” said outgoing SAMA President Jaime Florez. “His vision led to the creation of the fastest-growing automotive media group in the country, and his dedication has helped keep our organization on the right path. The 100-plus SAMA members owe him a great debt of gratitude for where we are today.”

Beasley has written the popular Let’s Talk Cars weekly new-car review column for Miami’s Community Newspapers for 12 consecutive years. He began his journalism career in 1964 as a copyboy with The Miami Herald. Over the years, he has also worked for The Miami news, WTVJ and WPLG television news in Miami, WSB TV News in Atlanta, KGO-ABC TV News in San Francisco, and the Cable Health Network and Telepictures in Los Angeles.

The Terry Jackson Award is named for the late auto journalist who was a nationally known figure and also a founding member of SAMA. He succumbed to cancer in January 2009. Previous recipients of the award have been Marcello Serrato, president and founder of Prestige Auto Specialists; Rick Baker, president of the South Florida Automobile Dealers Association; Jose “Pepe” Delfino, webmaster and media director for SAMA, and Borden, a free-lance writer and past president of SAMA.

For more information contact:

Ron Beasley